Home > Safety Commitee

Safety Commitee

Food Services
Special Education
Building and Grounds
Health Services

September 2010 Safety Flyer(Slip, Trip and Fall Prevention)

Slips, Trips, and Falls

Put Walkway Auditing to Good Use

October 2009



Archived Minutes:

Suggestion Box







April is National Distracted Driving Month

textwreckAccording to the National Safety Council, cognitively distracted drivers can miss up to 50 percent of their driving environment, including stop signs, pedestrians and red lights. And drivers talking on cell phones − handheld or hands-free − are four times as likely to crash.

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month. Take some time to remind your employees that focusing on anything other than driving, including eating and drinking; reading a map; adjusting a radio or talking on the phone; while behind the wheel can put themselves and others in serious danger.

If you would like to borrow any of the HM training videos on distracted driving, please contact me. 

For great resource materials to use in your employee safety awareness program, visit www.distraction.gov

Stay safe, and arrive alive!

On August 1, 2011, the Canon McMillan School District Board of School Directors, with support from all emergency services from Canonsburg Borough, North Strabane Township and Cecil Township, accepted an offer from US Life Safety for a complimentary Life-Counts® system for the entire school district.  Click here to read more.

Workplace safety is a focus of the Canon-McMillan School District. The committee’s mission is to take a critical look at workplace safety while helping to find cost savings. The committee has equal representation from administration and staff, including teachers, transportation personnel, building administrators, secretaries, custodians, cafeteria workers and Administration Building staff. Each committee member receives mandatory training annually. The safety committee has earned approval from the Department of Labor and Industry as a Workplace Safety Committee. In 2007, the committee earned the PSBA (Pennsylvania School Boards Association) Insurance Trust Safety Award acknowledging the district for its proactive approach to safety/loss control. The district stays on top of safety issues and concerns using an on-line reporting system and monthly meetings. The meetings are conducted in a different facility each month. At the conclusion of the committee’s formal meeting, a site walk-through is done and a safety checklist is completed for that building. The committee’s findings are then shared with the building principal or supervisor prior to leaving the building. If any safety violation is found, that building is revisited. All major findings have been remedied. The Workplace Safety Committee has now grown to include a Transportation Safety Sub Committee. The Workplace Safety Committee also analyzes Workers’ Compensation claims and looks for ways to avoid future occurrences. Mrs. Joni Mansmann, Director of Business and Finance, says, “The commitment to safety is evident in every building we have visited.”


The Safety Committee consists of:

Mr. Scott Chambers Committee Chairman / CIS Building Principal
Mrs. Joni Mansmann, Director of Business and Finance;
Mrs. Karen Dorgan, Maintenance Department Secretary;
Mrs. Donna Barca, Administration Building Secretary/Receptionist;
Mr. Matt Zewalk, Maintenance Coordinator
Mr. Matt Harding, Director of Facilities

Mrs. Cindy Karner, Custodian
Mr. Michael Daniels, Assistant to the Superintendent
Mrs. Linda Camerson, Hills Elem.
Mr. Steve Lucas, Maintenance
Ms. Melissa Schad, Nutrition, Inc

Mr. Casey Thompson, Technology
Mr. Bill Hampson, Transportation
Ms. Charlotte Zaricki, Transportation
Ms. Shannon Cimarolli, Borland Manor
Mr. Burt Mamula, Borland Manor
Ms. Ricki DeBlasio, Middle School
Ms. Sue Duckworth, Middle School
Mr. Lew Crouse, Cecil Elem.
Ms. April Lowden, Cecil Elem.
Mr. Charles Cheroke, Cecil Int
Ms. Becky Meyers, Cecil Int.
Ms. Marla Spiker, Central Office
Ms. Jenn Morgan, First Street
Ms. Tacy Ross, First Street
Ms. Tula Dziak, High School
Mr. Bill Haney, High School
Ms. Shelley Brose, Hills Elem.
Mr. Jim Hughey, Hills Elem.
Ms. Jamie Dunn, Muse Elem.
Mr. Tom Theodore, Muse Elem.
Mr. Mark Abbondanza, North Strabane Int.
Ms. Elaine Andronas, North Strabane Int.
Ms. Amanda Kyle, North Strabane Int.
Ms. Jennifer Auman, South Central Elem.
Ms. Margaret Demski, South Central Elem.
Ms. Joanna McCullough, South Central Elem.
Ms. Roberta DeJohn, Wylandville Elem.
Mr. Bruce Grice, Wylandville Elem.

Central Administration
1 North Jefferson Ave
Canonsburg PA 15317
Phone: 724.746.2940
Fax: 724.746.9184

Chairperson of the Safety Committee
Mr. Scott Chambers


School Closings and Delays

Please read our Web Site Terms of Use and Legal Restriction
Please report any problems or comments about the web site HERE
Copyright 2008
Canon-McMillan School District